Harriet Harman

Member of Parliament for Camberwell and Peckham. Mother of the House of Commons.

  • Home /
  • News /
  • Current News / Press Release: Timetable announced for Labour Leader and Deputy Leader elections

Press Release: Timetable announced for Labour Leader and Deputy Leader elections

Harriet Harman MP, Acting Leader of the Labour Party, said:


“Labour is today announcing the timetable for electing our next Leader and Deputy Leader.

“The General Election saw the Labour Party suffer a serious defeat, and over the coming weeks we need an open and honest debate on the right way forward.

“Our challenge now is to use this time to listen and learn, to elect a new Leader and Deputy Leader who will rebuild the Labour Party in order to take the fight to this Tory Government and to stand up for Britain.

“This contest will be run under the new rules we agreed last year: a broad and open contest with one person, one vote. We want as many people as possible to take part. More than 30,000 new members have joined the party in the last few days and I hope many more members and supporters will take this opportunity to have their voice heard.

“In the meantime, Labour will be taking forward our task as the official Opposition of holding the Government to account.”


The full leadership election timetable, as agreed today by the NEC, is as follows:

Friday 15 May                              Election Period Opens

Monday 8 June                            PLP Nomination Hustings for Leader

Tuesday 9 June                           PLP Nomination Hustings for Deputy Leader

Tuesday 9 June                           PLP Nominations Open

12 noon Monday 15 June            PLP Nominations (Leader) Close

12 noon Wednesday 17 June       PLP Nominations (Deputy Leader) Close

Wednesday 17 June                    Hustings period opens

12 noon Friday 31 July                Supporting Nominations Close

12 noon Wednesday 12 August    Last date to join as member, affiliated supporter, or registered supporter

Friday 14 August                         Ballot mailing despatched

12 noon Thursday 10 September Ballot closes

Saturday 12 September               Special conference to announce result



The Labour Party will place cookies on your computer to help us make this website better.

Please read this to review the updates about which cookies we use and what information we collect on our site.

To find out more about these cookies, see our privacy notice. Use of this site confirms your acceptance of these cookies.